These days, opinions are divided on whether parents who have children attending independent school should contribute to the public schools through paying taxes or not. The former, in many cases, should be beneficial.

First, tax payments are considered a civic duty, also a requirement of the law. That means each family, namely middle-class households and wealthier families, have to pay their fair share to support the government to invest in the country and provide services for the benefit of residents, especially in school education. Admittedly, people in different income groups should pay different rates of taxes in that affluent families generally pay more of their incomes in taxes than the rest of others . However, Choosing private schools for their kids means they are higher taxpayers.. If wealthy family were given a tax discount for sending their children to independent school, it would be treated unfairly.

Second, paying taxes contributes substantially to the development of the national education department. That is to say, young people have equal opportunities to attend school owing to government enhancement of the quality of teaching and learning. This increases a great amount of well-educated workforce, who would be high earners resulting in higher tax payments and higher payments to social support . For example, a company owner will need well-qualified employees, therefore, a well-founded education system can provide such employees.

In conclusion, for all the aforementioned reasons, I believe that parents of offspring studying at preparatory school would be responsible for paying taxes.