With the development of society and the enhancement of globalization, more and more parents have realized that learning a foreign language can enhance the competitive power of their children. So they have sent their children to foreign-language-learning courses to strengthen their abilities in foreign languages. So, what is the best time for children to start learning a foreign language? Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning at primary school rather than secondary school. In my opinion, I support the language learning at a young age. Definitely, there are both some advantages and disadvantages of adding a foreign-language-learning task in pupils' study. However, the advantages must outweigh the disadvantages.

One of the most referred disadvantage is the stress which would be put on children if they begin to study a foreign language at a young age. However, I think any subjects such as math, science, and history could bring about pressure on children. And learning a language, which has not many things to do with IQ could only bring less pressure than other subjects. Also, there are many advantages in learning a foreign at a young age. Firstly, the younger children have much better memories, which is very important in language learning. Secondly, with the capability of speaking a foreign language, children would become more self-confident and outgoing. They could be more willing to communicate with other people including foreign people. Thirdly, with growing of children, they will face to harder and harder courses of other subjects. Learning a foreign language earlier could relief the stress of language learning in their secondary school.

To sum up, I believe it is better to start learning a foreign language at primary school, or even at kindergarten. The younger the better!