Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is the case? What can be done to attract local people?

It seems to be an widespread phenomenon that museums and historical sites are more appealing to tourists rather than residents. I think that familiarity of locals and monotonous atmosphere are responsible for this.

One essential reason for this phenomenon is that the local are born there and already familiar with their culture and history so that in their opinions, there is no need for them to pay for a visit to a place that they have already known. However, for visitors, visiting museums and historical sites is an effective means to know the rich history and culture of a nation.

Another important factor contributing to low attendance rate of local inhabitants is that the layout of museums remains unchangeable for many years, which is visually unattractive to the local. On the contrary, this would not bore the holidaymakers that much because everything is fresh to them and they are eager to acquire knowledge related to that region.

In order to deal with this phenomenon, I think that government can shoulder it role to encourage the museums to provide special offer, discount or even free entrance to local people to promote attendance rate. More importantly, the museums can hold regular exhibitions or special events to provide new experience for visitors. Last but not least, everyone should improve awareness of to appreciate their region’s heritage.

In sum, several factors lead to the low attendance rate of the local in museums and historical sites. We could take effective steps, including reducing entrance fee, organizing special events, and enhancing self-awareness to tackle this modern-day problem.