Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary world, it is generally true that studying a second language from an early age plays an important role in children’s intellectual development. While allowing juveniles to start learning a foreign language at primary school instead of secondary school possesses some drawbacks, my view is that it is more likely to agree with the former ones due to some beneficial factors.

There are some disadvantages of learning bilingual in primary schools due to the playing tendency of children’s characteristics and the teaching levels of teachers. It is undeniable that pupils at the first level of education prone to have more curiosity about surroundings and less concentration on studying. As a result, there may have less their self-consciousness on accessing a new language and they may be under parent’s supervision to improve these state. Moreover, along with their parents are their teachers, which usually have more general knowledge without specialized approaching to pupils than those who in the secondary schools. Consequently, teaching methods may need to be taken into consideration strategically without losing studying spirit of students, inviting language specialists for these lessons as a good illustration.

Notwithstanding, I would argue that the merits of starting a new language in primary schools are liable to overshadow the foregoing setbacks. First and foremost, children may have more ability to acquire knowledge and new language than teenagers thanks to their functional brains at these stages. They are far more natural and express themselves confidently without hindrance about their appearance, clothing or also the thinking of others. Furthermore, the timetable of pupils has more flexible and shorter sessions, together with a play-centered approach, thus maintaining their enthusiasm and motivation to absorb new features. For example, there have not existed some subjects such as physics or chemicals in the primary syllabus, which alleviates studying burdens on the pupil’s shoulder. Their command about language in the later stage of life may stem from this early exposure, hence learning a new tongue subsequently is much easier for them.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that starting a new language in the earlier stage of school life, albeit its inevitable disadvantages to individuals, has gained more benefits. In general, parents should take it into account to make decisions for allowing their children to have access to the second language in the most suitable period of time, which helps them develop sufficiently and optimally.