Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an argument among people about whether foreign language learning should be started in primary school or later in secondary school. This essay will discuss why older students are more motivated to learn their desirable language but how teaching the younger ones can be fruitful due to their incredible talent and free time.

Being bilingual or polyglot is an interesting as well as useful capability for adults which can lead to high social ranks. There are some reasons for choosing secondary over primary schools to develop this skill. First, children below 12 years can hardly understand the aim for learning a new language since they already feel fulfilled for being able to read and write in their mother tongue. Meanwhile, teenagers in secondary schools are more passionate to build their future through language skills. Second, they can choose their favorite language while younger children are being forced to study what appeals their parents. For instance, according to statistics, 70 % of high school students regret for spending their childhood learning one or two languages which are not useful for their future. Finally, mothers and fathers believe that their children’s brains are not developed to experience this learning curve.

On the other hand, in my opinion, there are more benefits than drawbacks to start learning in younger ages. Firstly, assuming that young children cannot or they do not have the brain power are completely false notions. A research conducted by the ministry of education showed that human beings between the age of 3 -10 years old have an unbelievable ability for language learning and over 60 % of Canadian Multilanguage speakers started studying under the age of 10. Moreover, adolescents are already busy with their extracurricular activities which makes it hard to dedicate enough time to become bilingual let alone polyglot. Finally, younger children need to put less time and effort to reach the same fluency levels in comparison to older ones. The American Psychologists Association proved that they can be even over fire times faster.

In conclusion, although primary school pupils do not have enough knowledge to decide what to learn, education system should encourage them to use their unreturnable talent for learning a new language to assist them achieve better results in future.