Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In these days, the question of whether it is a better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this idea is not without disadvantages, the upsides will be far more significant.

There are a number of drawbacks of the children’s early exposure to foreign languages at primary school ages. First, since a student at the age of from 6 to 10 is not proficient in their mother tongue, pursuing another language course at school is likely to lead to language confusion. In fact, each language has its own linguistic features related to pronunciation, grammars or vocabularies, which makes it hard for a kid to remember and distinguish between the second language and the mother one. Second, by forcing children to take extra foreign language lessons after school, parents inadvertently make their opportunities for free play become increasingly scared. This means that the children’s outdoor play time is curtailed to spend on language assignments or tests, which is detrimental to both physical and mental development.

Nevertheless, the adoption of a new language at primary school is much more conducive than at secondary one owning to a whole host of compelling reasons. First, if children are exposed to a foreign language at their young age, there is a good chance that they will absorb it more straightforwardly and naturally than their counterparts. It is an apparent fact that learning languages is largely shaped by imitation process rather than invention, not to mention that young children are always good at copying skills such as pronunciation or accents than adults, which implies that letting children immerse themselves in foreign languages should be encouraged. Moreover, acquiring the second language is beneficial to children’s cognitive development. A great deal of evidence suggests that bilingual’s brains often work more actively and they potentially perform better on tasks that require conflict management compared to monolinguals.

In conclusion, the benefits associated with learning foreign language obviously outweigh the drawbacks. By considering the pros and cons properly, parents can have the best language teaching strategy for their children.