Some specialists say that the ability to grasp a new language declines with the increase of age, so the earlier one is exposed to a new language the better, meaning that primary schools are a better choice than secondary schools for the beginning of language learning.

Foreign language teaching at primary schools allows students’ exposure to a new language increase by up to six years, and more time means more knowledge. People are fluent in their native tongue because they have listened to and spoken it since they first had the sense of communication. If a second language is exposed to children at a young enough age, there is even the possibility that they will be equally fluent in both languages, like the children in families with parents from different countries.

Younger minds are more flexible and more likely to accept new things. Their language habits are not yet restricted by their native tongue, which makes learning the rules of a new language much easier. Many different languages have completely different grammar rules; if one has been using one kind for ten or more years, how difficult will it be for him or her to get used to a completely new one?

However, the teaching of languages at primary schools may give rise to more courses and tests. This results in more pressure for students to get good grades, and also for schools to recruit good teachers, especially in test-orientated education systems. This will not only take the fun out of getting to understand another language, but also twist languages into tools to get into good universities instead of tools of communication.

When it comes to the end, it doesn’t really matter when foreign language learning begins, as long as students can really master the language and enjoy the process.