Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some experts argue that it is beneficial for kids to expose to an exotic language at primary school rather than secondary school. In my opinion, this way brings a lot of demerits than benefits.

On the one hand, primary children should learn a foreign language because of some reasons. Firstly, in this stage, children are willing to learn something new without inhibition and self-consciousness. They can mimic pronunciation due to their sensitive ears. Secondly, when teaching language for primary children, teachers can easily build up a positive attitude for children. This attitude is very crucial to language learners because they will find learning a language fun and interesting. As a result, they are motivated to approach new knowledge and practice day by day to make perfect.

On the other hand, this way brings some disadvantages. In rural ares, primary teacher do not have opportunities to prove with well-trained teaching methods. Therefore, schools will not have enough language teachers to attend the classes. Moreover, it is very stressful for children to be bilingual. They will have difficulties in deciding which language to say, either mother tongue or second language.

In conclusion, there are many disadvantages than advantages in learning a foreign language early at primary school. In order to get rid of demerits, Ministry of Education should think carefully before deciding which option is appreciated for the development of children