Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some experts suggest that it is beneficial for students to learn other languages at their early age in school rather than at higher classes. In my view, the notion of learning foreign languages at primary school is beneficial and far outweighs a few demerits posed by the requirement.

First of all, I admit that exposing children to such complex activities in such small age would pressure them and make the weight of the curriculum heavy on them. The students are not fully developed on a cerebral basis in their primary level. Luckily a few could be precocious at that age. Moreover, learning a language not native to one is a daunting task even for older people. For instance, if a person whose further education demands Chinese language, then it will take him a lot of time and concentration to be able to learn even half of it. Children would face even bigger challenge than an adult to learn the language and the pressure would be really high on their shoulders. Also, at secondary school, the ability of students to comprehend the subject would be far more developed.

However, the advantage of this proposition would far exceed the disadvantages. Children are bound to have some pressure of other subjects despite the absence of language course. If the students are allowed to learn foreign language in their primary schools, then they would be able to learn it within the time they actually need the skill. Also, the prospect of being good at numerous languages would even encourage children to learn it in much better way. Furthermore, the age of children is like a mould and it can be shaped easily by interesting knowledge about foreign cultures associated with the language. If we could teach the students foreign language at such early age, they would be then able to interact with students from that country as well and develop a better professional and diplomatic relationship. In addition, at secondary level, the responsibility on their core subjects is a lot and can discourage the children to learn language at that age.

So, to sum it up, I believe the merit of teaching children foreign language at primary school rather than at secondary school outweighs easily the disadvantage of this idea.