Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, as the demand for global integration is on the rise, teaching foreign languages for children is ubiquitous in many countries. As a matter of fact, some professionals believe that learning languages at primary school rather than secondary school is beneficial for kids. Although this has some disadvantages, I opine that its advantages outshadow.

To begin with, this notion has two benefits. Firstly, studying foreign language at an early age can build up their reflexes. It is reported that kids are adept at mimicking so they can learn how to pronounce a word, use grammar, etc properly and easily. For example, a child who is exposed to a second language early is more capable of mastering its usage as a native speaker. Secondly, children at primary school will have more time spent on learning languages. To be more specific, as teenagers get older, they have more to deal with more exacting tasks, difficult subjects, etc not only at school but also at extra classes, making it harder for them to spare time for studying a foreign language.

On the other hand, learning another language at primary school has a demerit. The primary disadvantage is that teaching children two or more languages can make them easily baffled when speaking or writing. For example, some bilingual kids have the habit of incorporating foreign words when talking in their mother tongue, causing incoherence.

For these reasons, I am of the opinion that the benefits of studying foreign languages at primary school outweigh the drawbacks. However, whether to learn foreign languages or not should be optional, instead of compulsory.