Nowadays, children start learning of a new language at middle school. Some educationists, however, think that it is better to begin the learning at an earlier age like in primary school. Both advantages and drawbacks can be found in this proposal.

Many evidences suggest that children at younger age have a superior language learning ability since their language system is still developing. At early age, they are more adaptable to a new language including its grammar, vocabulary and pronunciation. Also, the curriculum at primary school is less intense and more flexible than secondary school.

On the other hand, some drawbacks exist as well. Primarily, early contact with a new language may affect children’s learning of their mother tongue. Pronunciation and grammar may be mixed with their native language by children. Second, the allocation of educational resources and teaching facilities are imbalanced between cities and rural areas where primary schools may not have enough qualified teachers and facilities to start the language. Accent and incorrect pronunciation can be formed easily at early years of children if quality of the teaching cannot be provided.

Overall, although some drawbacks may exist, advantages of early exposure to a new language would over weigh them.