Nowadays it is common for children to start learning of a new language at middle school. Some educationists, however, think that it is better to begin the learning at an earlier age, in primary school as an example. Both advantages and drawbacks can be found in this proposal.

Many evidence suggests that children at younger age have a superior language learning ability. As at this stage of their lives, their language system are still under developing. At early age, children can be more adaptable to new languages including its grammar, vocabulary and pronunciation. Another important factor is that curriculum at primary school is much less intense and more flexible than secondary school. More time and flexible courses can be arranged in at primary school than middle school.

On the other hand, some drawbacks co-exist with the advantages as well. One of the concerns is that early contact with a new language may affect children’s completing of their mother tongue. Pronunciation and grammar may be mixed with their native language by children. Second disadvantage is the allocation of educational resources between areas. In large countries where the economy and teaching facilities are imbalanced cities and rural areas, primary school in rural area may not have enough qualified teachers and facilities to start the language. Accent and incorrect pronunciation can be form easily at early years of children if quality of the teaching cannot be provided.

Although some drawbacks may exist for kids to start new language at primary school, advantage of early exposure to a new language would over weigh its disadvantages.