“Some experts opine that a new language should be introduced for all countries for international communication.”

Do you think the benefits of introducing a new international language will outweigh the problems?

It is asserted by linguistics that in order to ease the interaction among the different nations of the whole world, introduction of a new language should be done. Although a new and common language for all means elimination of language barrier, I believe the downsides of this outweigh the benefit as proficiency in a language takes years and even, a new language would meet opposition from many countries.

Initiating with the merit, international conferences and meetings are held where delegates from diverse nation are present. In these events, language becomes a limitation as those representatives are often comfortable in their native language. While, this introduction would immensely alter the situation and smooth communication can be in place when there would be one tongue of all. For an instance, English has been accepted as a global language which has dramatically reduced the cost which used to be incurred on translators or interpreters at international events. Therefore, this initiative could be a boon probably.

On contrary, there is no denial to the fact that it takes years to master any language as the learning will start from scratch which would be tedious task for many. Even, there are plenty of languages present in this world and adding a new would proliferate the burden only rather than doing any good. This can be better exemplified that humans end up learning maximum of 2-3 languages which they consider adequate for survival and have no will to learn a new one. Thus, I would totally consider it a mere wastage of time and effort.

Apart from this, a new language may be opposed by many elite nations as they would never like to accept a language that has no historical value for them. Its best example would be China which has never adopted English even because they consider that the importance of their mother tongue, Chinese, is beyond any other language. This means many countries would be reluctant to adopt it, thereby, offering no benefit to the introduction.

To reiterate, I am quite certain with the fact that present situation over languages is best suited and a new language would meet with a negative publicity despite of bringing a common platform of communication.