Some feel that punishment should focus more on rehabilitation instead of long prison terms. Others feel prison terms are important for social stability. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

While some people believe that the perpetrators are better off in prison for the sake of social comfort, others feel that concerning on their rehabilitation is the most preferred option. There are arguments both sides on both sides which we will discuss here.

On the one side, objectors of criminals undergoing rehabilitation argue that they inflict the majority of societies to feel an excessive anxiety. Predominantly, being a traumatic victim showing sort of overreaction induces public panic, thus, they accuse and mistrust whomever they meet outside. Furthermore, the spread of poor health condition suffered by fellow offenders in jail may be another issue. Perhaps, this could be one of contagious viruses, Tuberculosis, transmitting through air (sneezing and coughing) caused by improper environment. After receiving confinement, those who sicken from such disease hardly get accepted by common community.

On the flip side, exponents of this view claim that rehabilitation, typically residential facilities, helps the offenders gain many skills. Ones releasing from rehabilitation place are still considered to successfully get over the difficulties in living a life compared to perpetrators holding in prison who unfortunately incapable of surviving in social surroundings. In addition, there has been family support for lawbreakers during rehabilitation, so they will not be influenced by prisoners’ gangsters. There is a current statistic of all United State offenders from around 70% after releasing rehabilitative program, only 20% executing other crimes as recidivists.

In conclusion, in my standpoint, giving a better chance to perpetrators is more substantial benefits for social balance, instead of sentencing them in long-term imprisonment. Those include obtaining skilled programs for their career prospect as well as reducing recidivism rate. This is as long as there are preventing ways to infectious diseases during long prison sentences.