Some findings have revealed that cities around the world are growing large. Could you outline the possible causes and predict consequences?

These days, that many cities grow outward around the world has been a subject of public debate. Whilst many believe that this is a positive trend, I am of the idea that it also exerts many negative implications. This essay will analyze the forces behind this trend and its consequences.

Some compelling reasons can be cited to shed light on the urban sprawl around the globe. First, rural to urban migration is deemed as the primary cause of this trend. In fact, since a myriad of company, factory and health facility are located in urban areas, a great number of people living in country sides move to cities annually in search of better standards of living as well as job opportunities, which makes these metropolitan regions more jam-packed. As a result, that cities grow outward is unavoidable. Second, the urban population growth is also to blame for the expansion of metropolitan areas. That means, to meet the dwellers’ demand for accommodation, governments have to enlarge the cities by establishing more infrastructures as well as amenities in the suburbs.

However, there are several problems inherent in the rise of cities expansion. First, living in these regions does equal the degradation of people’s health as the air quality in teeming urban areas has been on an alarming level. By regularly getting exposed to a sheer volume of carbon and exhaust fumes, people dwelling in urban areas are prone to suffer many serious health problems such as respiratory diseases, which shortens their longevity. Moreover, that rural to urban migration creates multi-cultural society might lead to regional discrimination. For example, children from minority groups are usually victims of bullying at school as other students hold prejudice against their social background, which affects adversely their self-esteem and mental health in the long term.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the urbanization stemming from rural to urban migration and the rise in citizen’s population is not without demerits. Not only does it put people’s heathy at risk but also trigger discrimination in community.