Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is obvious that today, global warming has aroused considerable public debate about its consequences. Facing this issue, many people argue that we should accept it rather than fighting against it. Although the idea of coexistence between human and climate change appears plausible, I advocate the opposite view.

The idea of living with climate change can seek supports from some arguments below. First, since climate change is a part of the nature, many people believe that human is not strong enough to resist the laws of nature. A clear example to illustrate this point is Japan, where people have to cope with many natural hazards every year such as earthquakes and tsunami. After all years, all the effort to fight against these natural forces seem in vain, which implies that we human are only a tiny species in facing the vigorous power of the nature. Second, by harness the advancements of technology, many supporters suggest that it is straightforward to live with this phenomenon. For example, although unable to combat, people these days are able to predict and minimize the most detrimental impacts of the coming storms thanks to geo-technology, saving millions of lives.

However, there are a whole host of reasons why human should combat global warming in lieu of co-living with it. First, coexistence with climate change does equal to the degradation of human health. Since the alarming rate of carbon and chemical toxics leads to the development of many diseases such as skin and respiratory disease, human health and well-being will be definitely affected. Not to mention, this climate crisis also triggers ice-melting, leading to sea encroachment. For instance, in coastal areas such as Vietnam and The Philippines, this phenomenon runs the risk of losing living space and shelter for daily and economic activities, which causes many trials and tribulations for human.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that we should fight against climate change and find solutions for its problems instead of living together with it.