Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

There is no denying that water is one of the most essential elements for life on our green shelter. However, these years, water contamination has occurred more frequently due to industrial activities and oil spill, which triggers detrimental effects on not only human but also the ecosystem.

The first major culprit for contaminating the water resources is industrial activities from human. Since companies and factories have been mushrooming recently, the number of chemical toxic compounds discharged into the water sources has also undergone a drastic increase, wreaking havoc on natural habitat of many aquatic species. Consequently, many freshwater or saltwater flora or fauna have been pushed to the brink of extinction, leading to the ecosystem disorganization. Not to mention, even if the industrial wastes are buried underneath the ground, still they can permeate into the soil, subsequently poison the underground water and adversely affect human health if consumed.

Another cause of water pollution is oil spill. In fact, throughout the history, human have witnessed numerous oil spill, severely contaminating the sea water. Most of marine animals fail to digest oil, leading to unavoidable deaths if there is no action taken from government. Moreover, the spills are also to blame for damaging tourist industry, particularly in coastal regions as they ruin tourist destinations, trigger shellfish poisoning and serious reputational impacts to the tourism industry. A tangible example is the Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico in 2010, which led to the significant decline in number of tourists, even in neighboring areas, and total loss of more than 400 million dollars.

In conclusion, it is obvious that the emergence of water pollution stems from industrial activities and oil spill, exerting negative impacts on both human and ecosphere. To save the water resources, the governments should find solutions and stage intervention on time before it is exacerbated.