Scientist say that in the future, humanity will speak the same language. Do you think the advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

In these years, that many experts anticipate that only one language will be spoken by humans has been a subject of considerable public debate. Although the negative effects of this trend seem plausible, I believe its benefits justify them.

There are several manifest demerits when linguistic homogenization occurs. First, if only one language is spoken throughout the world, it will pose hazards to national cultures as customs and traditions have been always embedded with a language. In fact, if a language disappears, a whole way of life is likely to vanish with it, rendering the loss of national identity unavoidable. In addition to, the complete domination of one language might come at the expense of human social diversity. Consequently, that all people across the globe communicate, think and behave in the similar way does equal a more tedious life.

Nevertheless, under no circumstances should the merits of linguistic assimilation be marginalized. First, since the rise of global language is a facilitator of cross-culture communication, it contributes to the development of national economy. A tangible example to illustrate this point is Singapore, where English is deemed as a mother tongue. By replacing their dialect by English, the Singapore government has opened venues for foreign penetration into the country, making it one of the great powers in term of economy in the world. Moreover, as all materials will be translated into only one language, the exchange of information such as know-how and technologies will be tremendously stimulated. That means, we, humans can cultivate knowledge in various fields such as science, math, and so forth.

In conclusion, despite having some disadvantages, I firmly believe that the trend is more of a positive development as not only is it conducive to the global economy but also human horizons.