It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. What do you think is the reason for a growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

Today, most people would accept that juvenile delinquency has become rampant, and the causes of this problem have aroused considerable public debate. Although this can be attributed to some reasons, including media, several solutions can be utilized to address it.

Some reasons can be cited to explain the emergence of the increase rate of juvenile crime. First, since the majority of young adults now have an excessive exposure to questionable content, they are inclined to settle conflicts by violence, which is the premise that they will commit crimes in the future. In fact, many young criminals have admitted that their behavior have been affected because of violent games and movies, which implies those contents are responsible for their aggressiveness. Second, by attacking the adolescent, drug dealers will be the culprit for the youth engaging in extrajudicial activities. In accordance with copious scientific evidence, human brain is susceptible to the negative consequences of drugs, so the lust of breaking laws after getting high will emerge and take over their mind, urging them to offend.

Nevertheless, this issue can be alleviated, provided that some reasonable steps are taken. First, by censoring products containing violation such as movies, games or books, the youth will have less access to those morbid contents. That means, they have more time and opportunities to expose to more wholesome entertainments and hobbies, such as educational programs or sports. Second, law enforcement should take steps to tighten controls on drug distribution. For example, the increase in charge and drug tracking punishment would act as a deterrent for criminals involving drugs and controlled substances.

In conclusion, the violence in movie, games or on television program and drugs tracking are blamed for compromising the young adults, eventually lead to crimes. Hence, some interventions such as censorship for inappropriate contents and higher penalties for drug related activities are the most effective solutions to tackle this problem.