Some groups of people have benefited from modern communication technology but some people have not benefited at all. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true to say that new technologies have had an influence on modern society, while there are others who think that they do not benefit everyone. Personally, I agree that the differences of access to technology between urban and rural areas are evident.

On the one hand, the impact that technology has had on people who are living in inner-cities had clear advantages. Firstly, the Internet allows business people in different countries to interact without ever meeting each other. This creates business opportunities for many individuals thus boosting many economies from the increased profits that are earned when goods and services are exchanged online. Secondly, services like Skype create new possibilities for relationships between students and teachers. This improves education in most nations because learners from poor backgrounds would be able to access professional educators for free and this will improve their academic performance. For example, a student can take video lessons with a teacher in a different city or country. Finally, many urban people use social networks, like Facebook, to make new friends and find people who share common interests, and they interact through their computers rather than face to face.

On the other hand, rural communities suffer the most without access to the Internet. One problem is that challenges mostly happen when rural communities have a lower understanding of scientific knowledge. In other words, they might have rigid thinking against the benefits of the newest technology. Another key factor is that many students live far from school, and it is not cost-effective for telecommunication providers to lay fiber in the remote areas where they live. Although satellite is an alternative, slow speed and the expensive price is really limiting students to do their work.

In conclusion, technology has certainly merits towards central cities, whereas the outer-city still needs development.