Some groups, such as poor people and people from rural areas, think universities should

make it especially easy for them to get access to university education. To what extent do

you agree or disagree?

Over the past decades, the education of the low-income and suburban students has never ceased to draw public attention, although governments have been spending a numerous of money to support those students, the issue as to whether should universities have any especially approach to this problem or not remains controversial. From my own perspective, it can spawn other problems that will be discussed now.

On the one hand, it is important to recognize that suburban students have more difficult to access the higher education. those students could not embrace the fruit of advanced knowledge due to the certain aspect like low quality of pre-college curriculums or teaching resources. In fact, teachers prefer teaching at metropolis areas with high-income and good living condition rather than teaching at rural areas. In contract, students living in urban areas should have the competitive edge, including the broader vision of the world and digital literacy, that is a guarantee in the job market. So that, solutions which make to the high-education become acceptable to disadvantaged students are extremely crucial. universities could provide them some facilities, such as scholarship discounted court books.

On the other hand, it could be unfair to lower the qualification for poor student. The standard of admission should be based on the students’ academic ability, rather than on their economic background or where they come from. If university lower their criteria for poor students, it will be unfair with other candidates because students living in cities also make an effort to be competitive when they faced with tertiary education. Financial assistance should not be just a way to save students from poverty, but an essential way to encourage those students to dedicate more to their fields.

In conclusion, under no circumstance universities should underestimate the difficult of student who living in poverty or rural areas, however, they also should remain their strict admission and not have additional help for those people.