Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry.

Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some museums and art galleries charge an entrance fee, others can be visited for free. This essay support that the benefits of charging admission tickets in this kind of tourist places is greater than the possible drawbacks. This essay will discuss both pros and cons of paying an entrance ticket to this attractions and provide a reasoned opinion.

To begin with, all type of tourist attractions such as museums, zoos and art galleries should charge a reasonable price to the general admission. This is because the value of the maintenance of every single building is extremely expensive and thus entrance ticket incomes are destined for this purpose. In addition, making proper profits means that tourist authorities are able to manage funds to rebuild and improve the quality of their buildings as well as the amenities. One example is the modern Tate art gallery in London where the price of the entrance ticket is destined to build a new hall with plenty of chairs for people to rest.

One of the foremost disadvantages of charging entrance fees in those tourist attractions, is the less number of people that might be encouraged to visit them. Therefore, this might cause a cultural detriment owing to the fact that only the individuals who like this kind of activity are willing to spend money for the admission. In my opinion, I do not believe this could bring a loss in people’s level of culture due to the enormous information that nowadays someone who likes art could find on the internet.

To conclude, although charging fees for the entrance to visit museums and art galleries might reduce the number of visitors, I think that in modern times there are other ways of learning such as using online art web pages. In addition, tickets funds should be invested for the improvement of the tourist attraction.