Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In terms of dress codes in the workplace, people have different views as to whether employees should be required to wear elegant clothes or not. While it is necessary to be well dressed in some cases, I incline towards the belief that work productivity is more important than appearance.

On the one hand, many jobs require staff to look professional to portray an image of authority, trustworthiness, and diligence. It is undeniable that the way people dress can have a considerable effect on their customers’ impression and evaluation. Some professionals, such as teachers, doctors, or lawyers, for instance, are often expected to wear smart outfits. Otherwise, they may be considered as unqualified and unreliable, which can significantly affect organizations’ business. Therefore, for some certain positions, employees should dress in a smart and professional manner.

However, I would contend that relaxed dress codes can remarkably boost work productivity and efficiency. Casual dressing helps create an easygoing and creative work environment. In other words, workers do not need to worry about what to wear, which can be time-consuming at times. Additionally, this can also help workers enjoy more flexibility when working since formal attire, such as suits can be uncomfortable for workers. Take technology giants like Google and Facebook as an example; their staff, especially programmers and engineers, is encouraged to wear casual outfits, which can simply be T-shirts and jeans. However, they are always able to produce outstanding and competitive products and become leaders in their sector.

In conclusion, I support the trend towards the informal and comfortable way of dressing, but I do not think it is applicable to all occupations. Thus, enterprises should determine some suitable clothes for each class of employees based on their job titles and the type of work they perform.