Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there has been a growing debate about whether employees of organisations should wear formally. This is put forward by the proponents that the formal dress and appearance play an important role in the workplace. The opponents, on the other hand, believe that the quality of work is the most crucial point at work although the appearance effects on business. this essay will illustrate both viewpoints surrounding this issue, before coming to a reasoned conclusion.

On the one hand, there are some people who hold the view that workers should dress suitable for their job. These people present several arguments, but the most persuasive one is perhaps that the appearance of workers could impact on their business. In other words, some professionals can establish a sense of trust with clients by wearing a uniform. For example, doctors, nurses and chefs dress their uniforms to show their roles and hygiene condition to their customers. Another point often made by the proponents is formal dress could build a sense of pride to employees. This is because office workers can concentrate on their work with a sense of belonging. To illustrate, dealers who wear suit sell more products due to a beneficial imagination toward customers.

On the other hand, there are opponents of this view as well. one of the most convincing arguments is perhaps that a number of organisations today are unnecessary to greet clients, co-workers and owners. This is evidenced by the fact that there are many home-working services and teleworking services. For instance, people who work for telephone counselling don’t need to wear a formal suit. As well as this, companies should respect the workers’ individuality. this is because the dress code can offer workers to create their unique personality and it is one of their rights. For example, Steve jobs who create the ‘apple’ company always wore a turtleneck sweater to save time and he concentrated more on his work.

To sum up, it can be observed that there are both viewpoints in relation to the dress code at the workplace. To choose which side I am on, I believe that workers should have a right to choose their clothes due to reasons discussed above while some professionals such as practitioners, nurses and chef require to wear their uniform for maintaining hygiene.