Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Tertiary education has been a role of vocational training for graduates in our society, thus some people believe that universities should maintain the traditional ways to teach students, which provide a number of job experiences. Others, on the other hand, argue that students should have the right to choose their subject which they want to learn, even if it is not related to professional fields. This essay will illustrate both viewpoints surrounding this issue and reveal my opinion before coming to a reasoned conclusion.

On the one hand, there are some people who hold the view that further education should involve a practical programme that can be achieved a student’s future job. these people present several arguments but the most persuasive one is perhaps that all professions such as doctors, lawyers and scientists should be well-trained at college before they deal with real circumstances. In other words, they can prevent mistakes or adverse-effects by several case-studies. Another argument presented by these people is that this method would support students to survive in the extreme competition since they have a number of experiences at college. As they have more opportunity to practice own their career, they are possibly achieving their goals earlier.

Despite the aforementioned argument, there are opponents of this viewpoint as well. these people believe that university scholars should choose their preferred subjects while one of the most convincing argument they present is that all kinds of education such as art class should be respected as it produces creative and critical thinking. As well as this, some majors such as writers and artists are not required to attend certain curriculums since they need more natural talent than knowledge.

In conclusion, it can be observed that there are both contradicting viewpoints in relation to whether profession knowledge for future jobs should be applied for all tertiary educations or not. To choose which side I am on, I believe that students, today, have a wide range of opportunities to choose their jobs, hence it is a crucial point that how much they satisfice with their life, owing to the reasons discussed above.