People should choose their course of study not on the basis of their own interests, but based on the kinds of jobs they can get.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is commonly perceived that academic careers should be chosen for one's future development regardless of his or her personal taste. Even though some people believe that selecting studies should be a job-related one, I highly suppose that it is unreasonable.

Generally speaking, there are a number of people who hold the view that the fields of study should be considered to be applied in their future careers. These people present several arguments; but the most persuasive one is perhaps that job-related studies would support graduates to focus on the only one specific profession, which builds up the quality of knowledge leads them to have well-paid jobs. On top of that, these people believe that certain jobs are required a wide range of knowledge since they should deal with one's life or social matters. As a consequence, some professions are required scholars from the same field of majors because their roles and performances would effect on individuals and the communities directly. Take doctors as examples, they should be qualified by medical college and should be trained for a long-term in the hospital-related environments as they handle other's lives.

Despite the aforementioned argument, I believe that the major of learning should be according to one's preferences. The first reason is that as schoolers are commonly under eighteen, they would unsure about their future occupations and careers that they prefer, which means they are not only immature to decide their jobs due to lack of experiences but also they should not be enforced to choose their professions in their early ages. As an excellent illustration, a plethora of young adults in Korea suffers from unemployment issues since these young generations do not satisfied with jobs that are related to their academic careers, and dream other fields of occupations. Besides, there is a lack of opportunities to get certain jobs even though people study those sectors for long periods; especially, governors and policemen. Last but not least, students have the right to opt what they want to learn, which should not be pushed by external pressures because it would be a huge burden on individuals that even discourage them to perform educational activities.

In conclusion, it can be observed that although some people argue that people should choose what to learn according to their occupation, in my point of view, I conceive that people have the freedom to select whichever they want to be educated, owing to the reasons discussed above.