Some organizations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Other value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A school of thought said that you will be addressed the way you dress. In furtherance to that, your appearance speaks of your quality. Some organisations are of opinion that their workers should smartly dress while others insist on quality of job more than appearance. This essay will discuss both sides and give opinion.

To begin with, in some organisations, appearance is their selling point. It becomes imperative that their workers dress in order to attract customers, for instance, Peace Air, an airline company in Nigeria is known for their perfect way of dressing and topnotch colour codes. Customers prefers flying with them, even though they are the new kid in the block, people has chosen them over their counterparts.

In other hand, quality of work is also very important in some field of work such as health related skills and technical aspect of work. For example, Medland hospital in Nigeria has the highest number of first class degree holders as their employees. They are ready to pay any amount as remuneration to intelligent individual willing to work for them. However, appearance and dressing is not their thing as there is a known uniform for every staff which is blue scrub.

In my opinion, some field of work that does not require technical skill and are customer oriented show business can subscribe to ensuring that their staff are on good outfit rather than quality of work. But organizations such as health and skill oriented fields should go for quality and good knowledge of work over physical appearance. All these should be aimed at achieving organizational goal.

In conclusion, smart dressing is good for some organizations that are in show business while knowledge and good skill should be preferred by firms that handles technical and life oriented issues.