Some parents do not want their children to work part time while in school so that they can concentrate on their studies. Other parents believe their kids should learn to manage study and work duties as this teaches them certain skills they cannot learn at school and therefore better prepares them for the real world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both views.

Working while studying has become more popular among youngsters. Some parents want their children to do so because it trains them to live a better life by teaching them life skills, which cannot definitely be obtained from classroom. Some parents, on the other hand, prefer their offspring to focus only on studies to achieve academic goals. Both view-points have merits and drawbacks as this essay will demonstrate.

Being able to work part time while schooling certainly offers number of skills, which will be vital for them to live a balanced life. As students, they should do their assignments and tutorials while they should be present at work on time, thereby accountability and time management skills will surely begin to develop. Not only will those skills grow, but autonomy, critical thinking and independent problem solving will also be obtained by youths. In addition to those capabilities, they are able to make some money whereby academic expenses can be covered, so children have a chance to be responsible for their education. However were they to make wrong choices, money handling can lead to serious problems, such as drug addiction and cyber-crimes. Making things worse is that children have already lost their focus as they want rather to make money than to carryout studies.

Having said that, primary reason for high grades and good progress reports is to concentrate on classroom work. These students have plenty of time to complete their homework and tutes, which , in turn, reinforces what they learn at school. As a result, it is easier for them to achieve their academic grades. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Colombo university, in which they claim that grades of focused students are always higher than part time employees. Focusing only on studies, however, negatively affects kids in their adulthood; when they enter in to the workforce they may experience many difficulties as they have not been trained in a way that necessary skills, such as team playing, considering alternative view points and time management, are developed. Not only may they fail to maintain work life balance, but other relationships including social, professional and romantic, may not be successful.

To conclude, being a part time employee benefits a student for the rest of his or her life; however, it could interfere with their learning strength, and even students can be misled by money they make.