In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which of these two systems is more appropriate in today’s world?

Currently, in some parts of the world, high school children are being offered a focused curriculum in order to achieve future occupational goals; whereas, other countries provide their children with a wide range of knowledge, which makes them mature in every aspect of life. While both approaches have merits and drawbacks, I personally believe that former system is more effective because those students are more likely to have a better professional life.

Studying few subjects ensures plenty of time for students to concentrate on their narrow area of study. In other words, specialization always saves their valuable time, which can be utilized to research and to do experiments. In turn this will lead to better academic results, thereby securing admission to high ranking universities and getting better occupations. However, one may argue that focused students lack general knowledge, which is essential to experience a good social and professional life. Even though, they do not have a superficial idea of number of school subjects, they are surely enriched with useful soft skills, such as time management, critical thinking and independent problem solving, as a result of extensive researching. Making things better is that they can focus on one thing at a time, and this capability therefore helps them to perform at a high proficiency level. So, these students gain life skills and deep knowledge that are vital components of one’s successful career.

In contrast, students with general knowledge might find it difficult to enter in to the job market as they have not been trained for a particular occupation. In addition to that, were they to enter in to the global work force, it would be more difficult for them to perform with the focused employees, who have a competitive edge. Other key negative point of these students is that they lack innovative thinking, whereby new inventions are gifted to the world. This supported by a recent study conducted at Colombo University, in which they claim that inventors are always focused learners.

In conclusion, the key to successful career is rather to gain a deep knowledge on particular subject than to learn a large number of subjects, which is a waste of time in view of better professional life.