In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across

a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related

to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today's world?

Undoubtedly, in some parts of the world, schools target educating specific subjects to strengthen the knowledge on some specific fields, however, other schools provide a variety of courses and educate students the basics of every field. In my opinion, I believe the general learning is important for students in their early age and career-focused training can be drawn later in universities.

On the one hand, nowadays, the competition to find a job or getting a stable career has become a challenge. Studying an array of subjects will give an insight about many fields, which will help students to find their interesting path, as well as, students can choose a field with more development opportunities in university-level education. Moreover, it broadens the horizons of their intelligence about life and the world they live in. For example, while studying, history was never my favourite subject, but without it, I would never have found about the rich heritage of my motherland. In addition, learning a range of subjects helps to sharpen the path of students' future. For instance, a student who did excellent in mathematics can go for a construction major in a higher study programme.

On the other hand, even though focusing on a particular subject slims the chances of career growth, yet it can be beneficial for the students who do not want take on the burden of studying unwanted subjects. By studying one subject child can get a good grip on a certain field. In specific, learning about technology in detail from the beginning can help students in many areas in this technological era.

In conclusion, I strongly believe in an education system where subjects are already set for students. Even if they do not master all the subjects, it will help them gain familiarity with their surroundings. Besides, they can choose their desired career path later in the university.