In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects.

In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career.

Which is appropriate in today's world?

(250~280 words)

Education provided in secondary schools is always the focus of public debate. In terms of secondary education, the range of the subjects taught is the most crucial topic for students. Some countries supply general education across a range of subjects, nevertheless, others concentrate on a narrow way for a particular career. There are a few benefits and drawbacks.

General education provides a relatively wide range of fields in the curriculum. It assists the children with gaining common sense, which is important for becoming citizens. For instance, having learned basic science knowledge, people would not be easily misled over the danger of chemicals by politicians or media. Also, the public would not rashly believe the questionable nutritional supplement. Furthermore, general education has its merits of cultivating cross-disciplinary people on account of its diverse learning, who are the most needed labor or entrepreneurs. However, some people point out the downside of it. They consider that general education wastes too much time and is inefficient. For example, a child with a natural talent for math but without talent in literature. In this case, studying other subjects without interest may be a waste of time.

On the other hand, focusing on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career is also worth weighing the pros and cons. For the pros, it makes children concentrate on their interest or talent field, letting them specialize in and improve their competitiveness. Nonetheless, children may miss an opportunity to explore and develop other expertise or interests since they have no chance to get a lot of exposure to it. Thus, it would put a limit on future careers because those children have only learned the subjects related to a particular profession.

In summary, both curriculum planning during secondary school has gains and losses. On balance, however, I deem that general education is much more suitable for children nowadays. Because today is a highly developed world, there are many jobs needed the ability of cross-disciplinary. For example, gene engineering is a subject involving biology, engineering and programming. Therefore, general education is essential for people to acquire various aspects of view and knowledge as well as get with the times.