In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

it is widely debated about the main target of secondary education. While students in secondary schools are required to have general knowledge of many different subjects in some nations, children in others focus on some specific subjects related to their future path. I believe that a programme which contains a wide range of subjects would be a better choice despite the possible benefits of a career-oriented study programme.

To begin with, the idea of equipping students with a variety of subjects is beneficial because career orientation seems to be more suitable in higher education programmes, since students in secondary schools often lack experience and awareness about the job world. Therefore, it might be too early for them to decide their future career at such a young age. Consequently, secondary schools should provide their pupils with a diversity of subjects to help students explore their preference, as well as their strengths and weaknesses to orient their future most effectively and suitably in high schools. Otherwise, by narrowing the number of compulsory subjects, secondary schools may fail to develop their students’ potential in different fields, which is believed to be the mission of basic education.

Another reason is that students who are more knowledgeable, especially in many fields, might be more competitive in the workplace. Nowadays, as some jobs are gradually vanishing, people are required to have knowledge of a large number of fields. A good example is teachers in middle schools in Vietnam, who have to teach all sections of science subjects instead of physics, chemistry and biology separately due to the latest changes of the curriculum. Moreover, having basic information in various areas could help students to get more lucrative job opportunities. For example, employees who have a good command of languages are preferred by employers as they may need to cooperate with foreign businesses.

In conclusion, although it is promising to design a study curriculum with a number of particular subjects related to pupils’ career choice, it is more suitable for secondary schools to educate their students elemental knowledge of numerous areas.