In some part of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a negative or positive development?

In several countries, many people are increasingly conducting research regarding the origins of their own family. There are a number of reasons why this trend happens, and in my opinion I believe that this is a negative tendency.

To begin with, there are some reasons why individuals interested in discovering their family's history. The first reason is that these people is just curious about who their ancertors were and what role they played in society. For example, it night be interesting to find out that one's great-grandfather was once a member of royal family. This kind of information can make people more proud of their origins. Additionally, many people researched about their family's history as this activity can serve medical purposes. For instance, they would be aware of any diseases that they inherit from their relatives.

However, I would argue that this tendency is negative because of some reasons. Firstly, as this trend does not bring about significant benefits apart from those related to health care, it can be considered a waste time and money, especially for young individuals. In my opinion, it would be better for them to concentrate on their resources on more prominant things like cultivate their soft skills or enhance knowledge in particular field. Secondly, the information on the history of one'family may have adverse effects on their attitude in life. To illustrate, a person with a noble origin may become arrogant, while someone who is a descendant of a criminal might be ashamed and lose his confidence.

In conclusion, reaching one's own origins is becoming more common in society and i firmly argue that it is a negative development