Some people are born to be leaders, while others believe leadership can be learnt. Discuss both views and give opinion

While some people argue that great leaders are born and not made , others believe that leadership skills are developed over time through training, perception, experience and mentoring. From a personal point of view, good headship is a combination of both natural abilities and persistence practice.

It is reasonable for people to believe that leadership is genetic. In fact, good leaders possess optimism and energy that help them to encourage and motivate others to work together effectively. Barrack Obama has a certain charisma that allows him to inspire passion and energy to people, which serves as an example of this. Furthermore, some studies have also shown that there is a significant difference between a learnt leadership skill and a talent one, meaning that a natural chief can easily gain in-depth understanding in their areas, whilst others would find it really difficult to get to the same point.

However, many people born without natural leadership skills still become good managers. In fact, there are some elements that make some a great leader, such as discipline, resourcefulness and a deep understanding of the organisation. In addition, the credibility of a true leader is built on his self-confidence and mastery of his areas of expertise which only emerge after a great deal of time and experience. Without these qualities, a leader's capability may be questioned, as a result, subordinates would not want to follow a weak leader. For example, even Steve Jobs, a true born leader, had to practice his public speaking many times in order to convince his staff to heed his direction.

In conclusion, with or without innate talent, people can still become great leaders with skills that are polished and perfected through education, training and experience.