Some people are fond of buying new gadgets, phones, or laptops. Is this a good or bad thing? Discuss your opinion.

The improvement of technologies at this century is skyrocketed. We can’t deny the impact it has made to our daily life. And with the development of new devices and gadgets, it seems that more and more people are keen on acquiring new hi-tech stuffs. From my point of view, this act can causes some problems to the industry, and here’s why.

First, the race of new phones and laptops is a bad way to burn the money. We can clearly see a lot of devices have a price tag of hundreds, even thousands or millions of dollars. But they are not made for one or two years to use, they are made for long-term use. For example, top-tier smartphones, more widely known as ‘flagship’ smartphones, are able to work smoothly up to 3 years. This future-proof rate for laptop is even higher, up to 10 years if use carefully. Furthermore, in recent years, the ratio of performance per dollar is getting lower, due to the slowness of chip architecture researches. A lot of companies, such as Intel, need funds to sponsor this work, and all they can do is to raise the price of their processors, therefore make it way more expensive, while can’t bring any significant difference compared to the last generation.

Next, too many new gadgets can cause dramatic problems to the environment. A common problem is people tend to throw away the old piece of tech once they get the new one. If these old devices don’t get disposed properly, components from these will make the environment become harmful. For example, batteries, made from lithium ions, can become an explosive bomb if suffer intensive heat. Metals, such as aluminum can make the ground contaminated, therefore reduce the soil’s quality. One more impact to the environment is the amount of waste. The average number of tech devices per person is 2 device. Imagine if all of them get thrown away, the number is so catastrophic.

In my opinion, the requirements to buy new gadgets and tech devices are not essential. Therefore, this should not be encouraged, due to its consequences.