Some people are reducing their walks, however many health experts say that walking is thebest exercise to maintain health. Why do people walk less? What might encourage people to walk longer distances?

A daily walk of thirty minutes is said to be the best exercise. Our grandparents used to walk for miles on end to reach their destination. Today, people walk much less. Many factors are responsible for this.

In the developed world mist families have cars. They don't walk even to the nearest grocery store. In the developing world, too, people are giving up the habit of walking because they have easy access to public transport systems. We all seek comfort. Walking on foot can be tiring. Needless to say, people prefer to trevel by buses or cars whenever they have access to them. Motor vehicles are fast and thus they also help save time.

Unfortunately, this habit of using the car or bua has several negative. Consequences, most of us now spend hours in the office sitting in front of computers. Because of sandentery life style, we have developed many health problems like obesity, diabetes and heart trouble. We can avoid of these lifestyle diseases by simply walking for 30 minutes a day.

Many people who given up the habit of walking are unaware of the health problems they face. The government and healt workers need to create awareness among the genreal public about benefits of walking. People who use cars should park their vehicles farther from their office and take steps instead of elevator. Children too should be encouraged to walk to school. Once they get used to this habit they are wore likely to stick to it in the future.

To recapitulate, lacl of time and need for comfort are the reasons that prevent people from walking. However most of us will start walking again if we are aware of its benefits. The government and media can play important role in this.