Some people argue that advertising is discouraging people from being different individuals, and makes people to be or seem to be the same. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, a debate is raising to argue whether people are influenced to bear a resemblance to others due to the advertisement make them being dependent individuals. there are both for advocating and against this view, I believe it depends on different reasons.

it is undeniable that by some invisible ways, advertising offers the common trends to residents nowadays to encourage them to be similar together. Firstly, most of the humans are easily unintended shoppers. In addition, adverting has an immense function is that making people engrossed in world of fantasy where they can provide themselves a newer, prettier, slimmer appearance throughout shopping, so it’s not weird if some “slaves of shopping” buy something on impulse when they see some satisfactory goods on advertised media without knowing that those products have been bought by many other people. Secondly, almost citizens have the inclination to run along the novel things. Particularly, modern society enable lots of new brands to develop, lead to their own beautiful products can become “a tendency”, possessing those trendy label goods can make people extremely proud and superior, that’s why it is not unusual if humans purchase the same items to catch up new trend to compare to fellows. For instance, the youth these days are fond of buying the kind of clothes called “Hoodie”, because those clothes are very catchy, fashionable, so when a popular branch shows the advertisement about publishing many new designs about Hoodie, they immediately get it. As a result, advertising becomes successful in creating peer effect and make surrounding people to bear a liking to others during using their own same products which are the most trendy.

However, I am more convinced that promotional fields seldom drive humans to be analogical and independent. Initially, advertisement doesn’t play a decisive role about getting people buying something but surrounding circumstances do. In other words, customers rarely afford goods relying on advertising, they are going to consider about their income levels, budget, discounts, … first and then asking advises throughout family, friends, and so forth. Besides, there is a psychological effect that clients have low tolerance for sameness. To be more specific, the preference of customers are much more uncertain, selfish and sophisticated, which means they can’t accept the fact that their peers bear the same clothes with them although it is just tiny items like rings, necklaces. so the advertising can’t easily affect the customers until they definitely precept that this product is exclusive wearing. For example, many mothers present-day hate to wear family clothes with their husbands and children or couple clothes with their friends. Consequently, existing brands are more and more vulnerable because they don’t have enough ability to order consumers to pay attention on their produces due to lots of severe situations relating to the complex fondness and high-level suspense.

In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justify that publicity brings out negative effects that people begin to be sensitive, dependent, susceptible and behave similarity with others obsessively, I think this is not an accurate statement under any circumstance.