Some people argue that the fittest and strongest individuals and teams can achieve the great success in sports. But other people think the success is much related to the mental attitude. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

From the first ancient Olympic Games held in Greece (776 B.C.) till today, people have shown tremendous enthusiasm and obsession with Sports. From athletics, ball games to aquatic, gymnastics games, sports have developed into various forms and suits for vast kinds of interests. The requirements to win a game may vary, but a strong body and mental attitude are most commonly known factors for athletes to succeed. This article is aiming to learn the two factors and discuss which one is more favorable to meet great success in sports.

The strongest and fittest athletes would have better chance to win a competition. As most of the sports involves a large amount of physical output, the stronger athlete/team is more capable for the large energy consumption and has higher possibility to get the golden medal. However, even the fittest athletes could not win if they do not united as a team. For instance, in a boat race, if the athletes did not row at the same time or the same direction, their boat could be circling above the water despite they are full of power.

Meanwhile, the mental attitude could be a vital key for athletes to win. The desire and determination to win would motivate the athlete to conquer the obstacles and reach success. During the last round of 2018 Olympic Games table-tennis match, the two athletes were competing the world champion and they were about the same level. The competition seemed to be stalemated for a long 20 minutes, but as time goes by one of the athletes was too stress and did not defend properly. As the result the athlete took the silver medal due to the overwhelmed mental pressure.

In conclusion, an athlete with a strong body is capable to win, but to actually win, the athlete still needs a determined mental attitude to guide him from the confusion and tiredness. None of them is dispensable.