There is always has been a debate on whether immigrants should blend in with the local people's traditions and customs, or it should not be affected by anyone's way of living. It is a tough decision for people who want to start a new life in a new country. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion.

Let's start by looking at what would happen, if immigrants adopted the new local culture. First of all, it is highly probable that they will pick up the new language much quicker, which means they will have no difficulties in making friends and building relationship with their boss and coworkers. Starting a new life from scratch is troublesome, it requires as much support as we can have, so it is wise to connect with people surrounding us in order to get much help when needed. For example, when these people build good rapports with everyone, they may even ask the neighborhood to take care of the kids in emergency cases, or even get promoted quickly than those who do not.

On the other hand, establishing a minority community can be ideally suggested, especially when the cultural gap between the host country and a foreign destination are hard to be bridged. For instance, Japanese people tend to reply by "Hai" - which means "yes" - for every question. It is no doubt that this will confuse businessman from all around the world while doing business with them. Furthermore, people from that community who share the same beliefs can cooperate, sharing knowledge and experience with those have just landed to the foreign country. By the same token, people who are feeling left behind can share their difficulties to the whole group to stay out of stress.

In conclusion, there are good points in both sides of view. Personally, I think that it is best if the immigrants can find the balance between both scenarios, so they keep their cultural values without feeling isolated.