Some people argue that job satisfaction is more important than job security, while others believe that they cannot always expect job satisfaction, and a permanent job is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that job satisfaction should be prioritised in job seeking while others believe that it is not important as a stable employment. In this essay, I will discuss both ideas.

On the one hand, there are many reasons many people often opt for job satisfaction rather than a fixed job. Some highly prioritise monetary benefits such as salary enhancements or strive for a relaxing working environment or flexible working schedule so that they are willing to consider changing their career path once a better career option is available. Of course, I think that there is nothing wrong if people crave for an ideal job that gives them pleasure and motivation.

On the other hand, many think that we should pursue a stable life-long career as there is no satisfaction to expect at work. Their arguments often are based on the examples of many taking a job for life because of a stable income or others simply sticking with a job despite being low-paid because that is the job they want to do. I do not agree; I think that these people consider a permanent job as their career expectation might be reasonable and realistic and are more importantly satisfied by this job.

In addition, many people are unable to find contentment in anything they do because they have an unrealistic expectation of job satisfaction such as a position with a high remuneration without pressure that it is impossible for employers to offer reasonably. Even having a good job, these people will quit their job and find a so-called ideal opportunity. Therefore, the suggestion to be stable might not be welcomed by those job hoppers unless they expect more realistically in job satisfaction.

In conclusion, I believe that job satisfaction is the most essential factor for most people to take a job. Also, job security is only more important once we find a job that satisfies our expectations, provided that we do not expect unrealistically.