For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that teachers exert greater impacts on children’s intellectual and behavioral development compared to parents. I personally believe that the role of teachers is inevitable but nobody can deny the importance of parental education to a child’s holistic growth.

When children start school, they spend a large proportion of time at school and with their teachers, which explains why teachers have significant influence over children. In most countries, the average amount of time students spend at school is 8 hours per day, 5 days per week, which is also the time when students gain most knowledge and have social interaction. Another reason why teachers have a major impact on children is that teachers are professionally trained to both teach a subject and instruct children with the most effective methods. For example, teachers in America have to earn a bachelor’s degree in the specific subject they would like to teach and at the same time, complete a teacher education program that includes psychology of learning and classroom technology.

On the other hand, parents can have substantial influence on their children because they are a child’s first role model and establish the foundation for cognitive and emotional development for the first five years of a child’s life. In this period of time, children have most contact with their parents, not teachers. As is proven in the Journal of Early Childhood Research, children’s first five years is when a child’s brain develops more and faster than any other time in his or her life. It is further explained that the child’s early experiences, especially the relationship with his or her parents, stimulate the brain and create millions of connections, forming the child’s base for further development.

In conclusion, parents and teachers both play a vital role in the comprehensive development of children. While teachers make a considerable contribution to students’ intellectual and social skills, parents are the ones to lay foundations for children’s overall maturation.