Some people argue that parents of children who break the law should be punished in some way, because they are responsible for their children’s actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that parents whose children fail to comply with the law should also be subject to some kinds of punishments due to their responsibility of their children’s behaviours. While it seems to be convincing to some extents, parents shouldn’t be blamed and punished.

Those who are in favour of the view may claim that parents are the ones who leave the biggest impacts on a child’s mind and their actions, and therefore the responsibility should be laid on them. Firstly, at the early age with the incomplete developments of cognitive abilities and morality, children consider their parents as the model and standard of manners. Therefore, when their parents fail to follow the law or have offending actions, it is not explainable when their offspring imitate their wrongdoing. Secondly, all the surrounding factors that children are exposed to are decided by their parents. In other words, if children are influenced by savage friends, substandard education system or violent scenes around them, parents should be accountable for their negligence or improper childrearing. Additionally, the fact that parents of juvenile delinquents are given some kinds of sentence such as fire of imprisonment emphasizes the importance of attentive and proper childrearing. Hence, knowing the consequences of their irresponsibility or wrong teaching, parents or those who intend to give births will be more thoughtful and serious with their offspring’s nourishment.

On the other hand, I am convinced that it is not always justifiable to apply serious censure to parents of juvenile convicts. Obviously, parents are not the only one who leave influence on a child’s perception and behaviours. It is reported that the intention to commit crimes originates from various factors namely their own mental disorder, peer pressure, or unexpected circumstances. For examples, there are many cases where teenage criminals use drug or alcohol secretly without parents’ awareness due to their peers’ influence. These days, with the advent of social media, children are exposed to a wealth of information, crimes or antisocal behaviour included while there are some parents who are not digital native and are ignorant of the virtual world. Although they have attempted to manage their children’s screen time and give advice about healthy and decent lifestyles, it is impossible to control whom their children are contacting or what kind of information the children are exposed to. As a result, it is a shame to punish those who already made attempts to educate and take care of their children, but has to receive undesired results.

In conclusion, while parents cannot fully avoid the responsibility of their children’s wrong doing, I argue that applying certain penalties to them is sometimes unfair because the prevention of those crimes is out of their reach.