Some people believe that the age limit for the drivers should be increased [Measure - M] to ensure road safety [Purpose - P].

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we are living in a world where the prevention of traffic accidents is a heated topic and often discussed. It is universally believed that raising the legal driving age is an optimal approach to make roadways more secured. This essay shall explain my argument against the ineffectiveness of this solution and suggest the feasibility of superior alternatives to improve traffic safety.

The aforementioned method could be futile due to the fact that the problem of traffic accidents does not stem from younger drivers alone. In fact, reckless driving behaviors are reported to be equally prevalent among the youth and the elderly. Therefore, the latter are also prone to violate traffic laws and cause dangers to others. Vietnam perfectly exemplifies this situation. According to the General Statistics Office of Vietnam, there has been an increasing number of older drivers committing traffic offenses such as running red lights or speeding in recent years, equivalent to over a quarter of the traffic participants.

In lieu of banning younger drivers, it is highly recommended that governments adopt these following solutions. First of all, further severe punishments shall be imposed on traffic offenders. For instance, their drivers’ licenses should be confiscated indefinitely. Another viable method is to allocate more funding to the enhancement of infrastructures such as roadway widening or constructions of overpasses, which will help disperse the traffic flow and reduce the likelihood of crashes.

In conclusion, because increasing the legal age for driving may be an ineffective way to alleviate accidents, I would argue that one of the proposed solutions would be a preferable option.