Some people believe that all children should have a pet or an animal to look after. Other people disagree, however, saying that this depends on a child's circumstances. Consider these opposing views and give your own opinion.

It is popularly known that kids may benefit by taking care of a pet whilst opponents argue that there are some requirements that should be considered before asking a child to look after a puppy. This essay aims to identify some aspects from both views that must be discussed in order to approach to a valid conclusion.

On one side, kids who are in charge of looking after a pet may easily develop some social skills such as empathy and respect that have a central role in the passage from childhood to adulthood: becoming responsible for someone whose existence depends on them, kids would be more compassionate. Furthermore, looking for a pet requests some practical tasks, for instance feeding them, keeping their supplies clean, scheduling vaccinations, might enhance their time-management skills.

On the other side of the debate, those who oppose this idea insist that looking for a pet should be a commitment suitable only in particular conditions. Firstly, parents should be involved in the pet’s caregiving by supervising the children’s actions. Low-income families that are concerned about their bills and taxes and that struggle at having enough free time to dedicate to their children are not the most suitable accommodation for pets. For instance, they might not be able to provide them with proper care or adequate spaces.

Overall, taking care of an animal is definitely an effective way to teach children some important values that are essential to growing up respectful adults, as long as families could provide basic requirements; otherwise, it seems advisable to avoid this option and find different opportunities to learn kids empathy and respect.