Some people believe that all mothers and fathers should be required to take a course that prepares them to be good parents. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that young parents should take a preparation course, as their parenting methods tend to go to two extremes. Although criteria for good parenting may differ from each other, I believe such an approach is necessary if not sufficient.

It is in the parents’ interest to get involved in childcare-related training courses. Start with the misconceptions clarified. Due to traditional conventions, kids are either overwhelmed by round-the-clock activities or left to their own devices. A parenting course may help find the middle ground between two polarized positions. The scientific knowledge acquired is one additional reason. Parents may concern about children’s screen time without noticing their own obsession. However, it is well documented that parents absorbed with their phones will seriously affect children’s cognitive development. If parents can get a grip on the emotional cueing system, their devotion will undoubtedly be more efficient. Add to that the fact that parental time and energy are finite. They may be beset by dubious information and emotional pressure from peers. Instead, a training course will do a service to parenting techniques.

Granted, people from various cultural backgrounds may disagree on what good parenting entails. This leads to disputes among different course concepts and teacher qualifications. In East Asia, it just wouldn’t occur to children to disobey or talk back to their parents, and parents may be influenced by such teachings as “spare the rod, spoil the child.” Western countries, on the contrary, may highlight their independence of thought. But we can still reach a consensus in the non-violent communication, and balanced diets.

In conclusion, I am convinced that the benefits of parental course outweigh the drawbacks. There’s no denying that good parenting is lifelong learning by trial and error, but a scientific course may help develop children’s intelligence, cultivate interpersonal skills and shape a healthy outlook on life.