In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In rich countries people’s lives are getting longer, a trend that can have huge implications for society as a whole, mostly for the worse. Governments should take active measures to mitigate the impact of an ageing population.

Problems emerge as society ages, and chief among these is the economic burden imposed by a rising number of pensioners. When people enter old age, they are prone to diseases such as cancer and heart problems. This means that in an ageing society there will be a rise in the demand for healthcare, which could put the health budget under strain. Another issue is that as life expectancy increases, the proportion of working, younger adults will be smaller, and consequently, governments will collect less taxes in relation to the size of the population. Worse still, older citizens tend to be passive consumers, meaning that there will be less consumer spending and therefore slower economic growth.

Several measures could be taken to tackle these problems. A simple solution would be to raise the retirement age for working adults, perhaps from 65 to 70. This could reduce the proportion of pensioners in the overall population and make government budgets in better shape. Another step is to encourage immigration. By attracting young talent from around the globe, governments can increase the number of tax payers and effectively redress demographic imbalances, as is demonstrated by the cases of the United States and Singapore. Automation also works. An ageing population could result in the shortage of skilled labor. Using robots to replace human workers goes a long way towards addressing this problem.

To sum up, governments can take measures to lessen the negative impact of population ageing, mainly in the form of increasing the retirement age, encouraging immigration and taking advantage of automation.