Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some experts claim that, permitting children to make their own choice on their favorite stuff like eating, clothing and entertainment are the sign of thinking only of ownselves rather than society, while others argue that it is necessary to teach about talking own decision by themselves to make them independent. I partially agree on this statement and the essay will examine the arguments on both favour and against on the topic.

To begin with, letting authority to the children can be advantage to them to develop decision making power in them. It can seem tiny thing, giving permission to children to make own choice on food menu, clothes and their color, their playing stuff, but in adulthood they can realize, that small decision are the key of being good decision maker in their personal and professional life. For instance, in western country, parents permit freedom to their children from small age, which helps to develop decision maker personality and independent in them in adulthood. Moreover, this help children to develop outgoing personality in them and they will not hesitate to talk with people and come forward in any place and speak and fight for themselves. Furthermore, this can also be very advantageous to make them more responsible for their choice , confident and independent in their life, however they can move ahead without other support and can enjoy freedom.

On the other hand, some parents think that, by choosing for their children they are protecting and avoiding the mistake of them. Also, they think they are making more responsible to their child towards society and family by teaching cooperative nature. As an example, in restaurant if children are allowed to make decision on food menu then they order everything as per their preferences only by ignoring family members. So, some family feel necessary to protect them by not giving decision making authority in small age.

To conclude, allowing decision to children is the controversial topic of today’s society, however, I believe that letting them to make own decision helps to make forward step if life, while parents also teach them about family responsibility and cooperative nature and social norms and culture in same time as well.