Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the childhood period, children are busy with themselves in food and playing. Many parents have given the freedom to their children to make their own choices and decisions of their everyday activities( food, clothes, and entertainment) which few parents fear that this activity would promote selfish society while other parents support their children in making decisions of their own choices and decisions. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide detailed analysis to aid readers in coming to their own conclusions.

The children who were given the freedom to decide on their own choices and decisions would result in a self-centred society that thinks about their own desires first. The children would become self-centred and selfish of their own desires due to the freedom given to the children to make decisions of their own needs. For instance, children would think about their personal choices first before thinking about their impacts. Children can lose feelings of empathy over their decisions. For example, children can lose the feelings of kindness, love, sharing if they are allowed to make their own choices.

Despite the above arguments, parents consider giving freedom to their children to decide their own needs. It will help children to be independent so, they do not have to ask for advice from their parents. For example, children do not need to console their parents about what to wear at the party if, they are independent in decision making. Children can become rational thinking as they can decide what is suitable for their looks and health. For instance, children will be able to judge their diets, dressing style according to their required body health and occasion.

Children need their space for their own needs and desires. This essay discussed the creation of a selfish society if children are given too much freedom to their own choices while few assumed that children must make their own decisions about a matter that impact them.