The ways of upbringing children are among the commonest debated quandaries in the modern societies. One of these affairs is letting a child take decisions. It is asserted by a category of people that it results in producing uncooperative adults, while others argue that, it is of significant importance in raising better generations. Both of these beliefs will be discussed in this essay, before a conclusion is made.

In the early years of a child's life, toddlers try to prove their capacity of dealing with all daily activities as good as an adult. This usually results in lots of arguments with parents regarding the meals,cloths, and even the way they play. Eventually, some parents may surrender and let the child choose what they like. Although this may save them time and effort in the present moment, it results in raising careless adolescents as well as providing the community with residents who only care about themselves.

This strategy of parenting lack interaction between the family and lessen the significance of daily communication. To illustrate, a friend of mine who used this way of dealing with her son when he was a toddler, ended up into becoming the supplier of money when her child grew. She is now complaining of absence of communication as he only contact her when he is in need for money.

On the other hand,some parents claim that it is a daily chance to enhance their children's personality development by allowing them to take decisions.Nevertheless, leaving the child to make a choice they have their way of control. In this strategy the parents give the child couple of available and acceptable choices. Although the fact that the decision maker is the child , the parents already gave the original choices, which were all applicable. In this way ,demonstrably, the toddler learn how to pick a choice and still be nurtured in a close-knit family.

Personally, as an example, I have used this strategy while raising my children,they get substantial benefits from it. It didn't only increase their self-steam but also made them better negotiators.

To conclude, in my opinion, allowing children to make decisions, if handled carefully, provide an exceptional opportunity for building strong person who trust them-self as well as being able to communicate with others