Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With paying more attention to education, opinion has been divided on whether or not encouraging children to be self-regulation. While some people argue that children make decisions by them self would be pivotal, I still believe that it could make them be more selfish, hence negative effects on societies.

There are several plausible reasons why people might argue that children should not be independently making choices. Firstly, children would have more chances to grow up into selfish individuals. A case in point is that my nephew is always insisting on watching her favorite programs on television and he only prioritize what he wants. In the future, this attitude would interfere their work performance because they could not have ability to work in a team. Secondly, the pivotal position of parents would be disappeared providing that children are permitted to be independent from their childhood.

Despite the foregoing arguments, I support the view that self-regulation is the most necessary skill children should learn. Some studies reveal that children who can solve problems independently at home could be more successful in their study performance. It is partly because they could find the most appropriate study-methods for themselves and also their own motivation which depends on individual character. Besides, they would be responsible for their duty when they involve in problems by their preceding mistakes. Therefore, they would have opportunities to secure a high-paid job in the future.

In conclusion, self-decision, despite its drawbacks, I believe that the merits would eclipse the disadvantages in the long term.